LFA Café

LFA Café

Register

Need to find help in a small town
Read 4987 times 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
October 02, 2001, 04:23:25 PM
­ Dear MaryAnne,

I have Anxiety/Panic and Depression. I live in a small town in Ohio and am trying to find resources for support groups, therapy or anything that might help. I'm only capable of going a limited distance, and I don't have any money to afford counseling. I have no one to ask or anywhere to go really. And I don't think online support will really help... Have any advice?

Where you know you can come for Professional, personal, right on target advice, life skills, crisis intervention,ask questions, confide in guaranteed help. With all the traps, scams, perverts and sites out there that are very unsafe, this site is your safe place. I have been doing this for 10 years.

October 02, 2001, 04:24:42 PM
­ Dear A:

Well you are definitely thinking of the best course of action and I agree that on line therapy is still in its infancy and it would be better to be in person. OK, small town, every town it is my understanding as a Social Worker is there is a county mental health center and they will see you for free or at least on what is called a “sliding scale.” Which means what you can afford to pay. You can look on the Internet under your county and the state of Ohio and mental health centers and you should be able to find it. I think this will answer both of your problems if not write me back and I will help you look at another angle but you should be able to get help at the county mental health center.